Pemberley, Chatsworth House

This will be a short story but I really miss writing, so finally I found time (I am starting my thesis now… so you can figure how busy I am) Last weekend I went to Chatsworth House. It was amazing!!! just as I imagined it in my mind and even better… it is so Charming… I really wished I have been brave enough to dress as Jane Austen or Elizabeth Bennet… but I was not… but I did wore a blue flower dress, I was so fortunate that it was actually a sunny-windy day (my kind of favorite day).

I will share with you some pictures and in the end of this post there will be full instructions of how to get there =) and some (hopefully) useful notes…

DSC_0045

inside Chatsworth house you will find the portrait of Georgiana, Dutchess of Devonshire, that was actually played by Keira Knightley in “The Dutchess” movie. Sorry the light, it was not me or my camera… it was the sun… they should take more care about this!!!

DSC_0065

I swear it was not on purpose the fact that I appear in the picture but I actually love it! =)

DSC_0066

All the 20th century rooms are quite charming, I am obsessed with art, textile design and interior design… so this rooms were breath taking for me with those textiles, the interior design full of flowers, birds and trees.

DSC_0094And Yes… suddenly… in the store Mr. Darcy (played by Matthew Macfadyen in 2005 version of Pride and Prejudice movie)

DSC_0102

I swear you have to be there the whole day… you can´t have enough of the views if it is a sunny day… and maybe even rainy days

DSC_0105

The view ❤

DSC_0180

Oh, again!!! ❤DSC_0206I am not 100% sure but something tells me this bridge is the one Elizabeth Bennet runs after staring at Mr. Darcy in the church during the mass.

How to get there?

If you do not have or rent a car/motocycle/bicycle its quite a messy trip, but it is totally worthy…

I went from London to Chatsworth… here is what I did, but I will speak in third person to make it easier for you in case you want to go…

-Go from London to Derby by train (I arrived at night so I stayed there, in order to make the most of it the next day)

-Then take another train from Derby to Chesterfield (beware!!! if you use google maps it will tell you that you can use the train, but locals and in the information desk say that that train does not exist, though one kid told me it does…. that was kind of weird… just do not use the “phantom train”)

-Outside the train station (on your left) is a bus stop, take the bus 66 (I took it 10:30 am) then it will be 27 stops. You have to stop on Nether End.

-In your left you will see a small bridge next to a blue coffee shop. Go in that direction. Right after the bridge, turn left. Go straight until you see Chatsworth (you will pass 2 “doors”) one says: “only for pedestrians” there is no way you can enter here with a bicycle because it is kind of  tight. The views are amazing!!! all green, sheep, flowers…

Notes: You will enjoy it the most listening Dario Marianelli (if traveling alone, because otherwise it might be disrespectful)

This entry was posted in Traveler and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment