Verona

Now that I am finally done with my dissertation: Feminist Fashion, I have enough `free time´ to do one of my passions: write.

After visiting Como Lake, the next stop was Milano Centrale Station once more, and then Verona. Verona was my last stop on that trip as a solo traveler, then I continued my backpack trip with my friend Jacquie. Therefore, I decided to do something I was avoiding: siting and eat in a restaurant on my own. But first things first…

So, I arrived 6:35 pm, so I went to the city center (the Arena and streets near it) to buy a huge chocolate macaron, a focaccia,  beer (Corona this time, I was missing Mexico) and milk… I know it sounds weird but (as I always repeat to myself) weird is good because it is the opposite of boring. I stayed at Core di Verona, again a lovely B&B, I am in love with B&B now…seriously! Is it me? I have good taste? should I become a travel agent or what?

DSC_0342 DSC_0354

Well, that day, while having dinner at the B&B I made a promise to my `friends for life´ Pao and Chabe. Actually the following day was Pao´s bday so I had to fulfill the promise. The promise was to have dinner with a frutti di mare (even though I hate fish… or hated because this year `trying new things´ promise to myself have completely changed me) or pasta al pesto.

The following day I wrote a letter to Giulietta (TOP SECRET of course, but I will just shorten it for you: “Sono preparata per innamorarmi” / “I am ready to fall in love”) early morning, then I went to the Arena, walked by Via Mazzini, then buy a glass of fruits in Piazza Erbe and went to Giulietta´s house. I thought it would be like in the movie “Letters to Juliet” that you put your letter on the wall, but it is forbidden, I have no idea if in the past it was aloud or what… but well, there is a red mailbox inside her house or you can send her an email (She have not replied yet, but I still have hope, even when there is nothing to reply really  ❤ ). Then I walked to Ponte Piedra and the Duomo.

DSC_0366

 

DSC_0424

20150403_122917

After that and to celebrate my friend, I ate a frutti di mare at a restaurant in Piazza Erbe, Filipini, followed by a lemon sorbet.  Even when the textures of the octopus were weird and new for me, I have to admit that the purple one is really good as well as the shrimps. Then I went back home (I mean B&B…see??? make you feel like home) to rest for an hour and get ready (psychologically and physically) to have dinner solo.

20150403_131316 20150403_141844 20150403_145156

I went to Juliet´s grave and then, finally to have dinner solo. But first I walked to have a look at the MENU of each restaurant. I went to buy a scarf I have liked previously. I decided to eat at Mamma Mia because it was `typically´decorated: madras tablecloths, sunflowers and candles. The host asked me if I was on my own and I said yes, so she told me that she will sit me next to some guys so that I don´t feel so lonely. Okay, one of them told me “Bon apetit” when I started to eat the pasta al pesto I promised to Pao.  And with that little “Bon apetit” I ended up eating on their table. They were fro Luzern, my next stop and one of them was from Cancún, México. So, I ended up not being alone.

20150403_173552

Verona has a unique charm I can´t explain with words. Even their people is nice, one photo speaks thousand words:

20150403_160523

Thank you god for giving me the chance to travel, the inspiration to write and amazing experiences to tell.

This entry was posted in Traveler and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment