2019 Book List: Jane For June

So, it was Jane for June, why? Well first of all because she is my favourite author… second because June I was supposed to read a Feminist Writer and, from my point of view, she is the one who started this movement.

They did not give me a lot sense of satisfaction to read as they were incomplete… but it did active my imagination towards possible endings.

I read it in Italian, so please forgive me if I did not understand fully the context. Of course, right after writing my own notes I went to read other reviews to find out if my Italian is good or bad and find out what I already knew: I need to practice more Italian, otherwise my reading will be lost in translation.

thumbnail_img_0903

Lady Susan

From my point of view, Lady Susan is an incomplete version of “Pride and Prejudice” in which Darcy is Lady Susan. The main character is judged by everyone and she might be judged just right. She seems like she has not clue about what she wants for life. She is just passing a tough time, I suppose. She has no husband, so of course either she marries or ends up living very poorly. But she ain´t a “b***h” as everybody thinks, she is just clever and trying to help herself. 

From many other else´s point of view: Lady Susan is the least known novel of austen. It is about a flirty lady, widow in her thirties who has an affair with a married man while flirting with Mr. Reginald de Courcy, her brother in law (O*M*G, okay, I did not figured this out until I read the other reviews, so she might be a tiny bit of a b***h… unless she really loved that man… I am not okay with having affairs in 2000 but in 1700 there was no other way… I mean, they used to get married mainly out of interest, so having an affair was the only way to have your “love story”…). Lady Susan wants her 16-year-old daughter to marry Sir James but she doesn´t want to as she is in love with Reginald (What the fluff?). Her mom sends her to boarding school as a punishment and she runs away with his uncle (Lady Susan´s brother). In the end Lady Susan ironically marries Sir James and it is hinted that Frederica will marry Reginald (awww, sweet).

It is said that this novel is not very well developed. To be honest, I thought it was incomplete. But it is forgivable since Jane Austen was probably learning to write at this time, she was only 18. Some characters, like Frederica, are not well developed and it does seem like a rushed, not well concluded, ending. 

Btw, apparently there is a film inspired in this novel: Love & Friendship, with Kate Beckinsale as Lady Susan. I saw the trailer and I truly want to see it, hope I find a proper link to do so.

The Watsons

First things first… the Watsons is a fragment of a novel written by Austen in 1802. It is believed to be the only work written by Jane when she was living in Bath. It made me feel like I was kind of reading “Sense and Sensibility”. I think it had a lot of potential to be a great novel, it is sad to know it is an unfinished one.

On the opinions I found about it, they compare it more to Pride and Prejudice. It is the poorest family in all Austen´s novels. Therefore, there is more “need” or urge for the sisters to marry well. Since it is just a 50 pages fragment, it is just an introduction to the characters. Emma Watson, has characteristics of other heroines, Emma is romantic and she insists she would not marry a man she did not love regardless of his fortune. She is being introduced into society through the Edwards family. Elizabeth Watson, Emma´s older sister, Tom Musgrave who is the flirt of the novel… picture Willoughby, Mr. Howard, a clergyman who catches Emma´s attention and Lord Osborne, attracted to Emma.

*** 3 stars ***

A book that I judged of four stars before reading it, and ended up being a 3 star book. It can not be compared with her other books, it is not a gem but they are worthy reading if you are a Jane Austen fan.

who should read it?  For those who, like me, love Jane Austen or english literature.

What are your thoughts on this incomplete / short Jane Austen novels?

This entry was posted in Books and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment