Me before you: book review

9780718157838-3I can´t wait to see the movie, but for starters I read the book. This book is a love story that must be in your “must read” romantic novels. I am going to compare it with other book that needs to be read with tissues on the side,  P.S. I love you (2004, Ahren).

Louisa Clark is an extraordinary character, I felt a bit related to her. Colorful (in style and soul) and chatty. Though sometimes I am a bit silent, but once I feel a bit comfort with the persons I am surrounded by, I might can´t stop talking. She evolved in a way I think I did the past year (sorry if I am comparing the story with myself, but that´s the good thing about books, that you can compare them or read them with your very own experiences, with your perspective of things), I thought I was someone and I´m probably not. I feel like a completely new person now.

I sort of like Will Traynor sarcasm, playing mean tricks or making Louisa feel frustrated and question her life. I liked it since the beginning because I knew this was going to push her towards something. Obstacles in life, arrogant persons or people who don´t believe in you are actually the persons you are thankful for, because they are the ones that push your pride to be better, to be the best version of yourself.

The book, like movies such as The Intouchables (2011, french movie), makes you value life and put yourself in someone else´s shoes. Sometimes you don´t understand someone else´s reasons but you have to just love and respect them and their decisions. The book is a roller coaster of emotions. It made me laugh, and fogged my eyes. I did not properly cry but almost.

I agree with what the Independent on Sunday said about it. A book about friends pressing upon each other (Independent on Sunday) until they eventually love each other.

This entry was posted in Books and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment